Fix the problem

Today I stopped myself from hiding a problem.

I already had a message typed in that would allow me to get the right tools and access to take on a task that is painful and seen as a blocker by the team. Yes, you guessed it, I was going to do our deployments 🙂

But then something in my mind clicked and I realised that is the worst thing I can be doing. Sure I would get a happier team and in the next retro we’d not talk about this problem but as an organization, all we did is shift the bottleneck from one person to another.

Next time you want to step in, help out and pick up that piece of litter from the floor … have a think if maybe you’re just hiding a problem. Instead, maybe you should have the difficult conversation and start a meaningful, lasting change.

Leave a comment